What are STLC phases?

Software Testing Life Cycle (STLC) is the testing process which is executed in systematic and planned manner. In STLC process, different activities are carried out to improve the quality of the product. Let’s quickly see what all stages are involved in typical Software Testing Life Cycle (STLC).

Accordingly, what is the role of STLC and SDLC?

STLC (Software Test Life Cycle) SDLC is Software Development LifeCycle, it is a systematic approach to develop a software. The process of testing a software in a well planned and systematic way is known as software testing life cycle(STLC).

What are the different stages of testing?

Acceptance Testing: This is the final stage in the testing process before the system is accepted for operational use. The system is tested with data supplied by the system procurer rather than simulated test data.

What is a test scenario?

A Test Scenario is any functionality that can be tested. It is also called Test Condition or Test Possibility. As a tester, you may put yourself in the end user’s shoes and figure out the real-world scenarios and use cases of the Application Under Test.

What is the V model?

The V-model is an SDLC model where execution of processes happens in a sequential manner in a V-shape. It is also known as Verification and Validation model. The V-Model is an extension of the waterfall model and is based on the association of a testing phase for each corresponding development stage.

What are the different types of testing?

Types of testing

  • Unit Testing.
  • Integration Testing.
  • Functional Testing.
  • System Testing.
  • Stress Testing.
  • Performance Testing.
  • Usability Testing.
  • Acceptance Testing.
  • What is the test coverage?

    In other words, test coverage is defined as a technique which determines whether our test cases are actually covering the application code and how much code is exercised when we run those test cases.

    What are the phases of STLC?

    There are different phases in STLC which are given below:

  • Requirement analysis.
  • Test Planning.
  • Test case development.
  • Environment Setup.
  • Test Execution.
  • Test Cycle Closure.
  • What is the entry and exit criteria in testing?

    What is An Entry Criteria in Software Testing? Entry criteria for testing can be defined as “Specific conditions or on-going activities that must be present before a process can begin”. The Software Testing Life Cycle (STLC) specifies the entry criteria required during each testing phase.

    What is the bug life cycle?

    Defect life cycle, also known as Bug Life cycle is the journey of a defect cycle, which a defect goes through during its lifetime. It varies from organization to organization and also from project to project as it is governed by the software testing process and also depends upon the tools used.

    What is difference between priority and severity?

    Both Severity and Priority are attributes of a defect and should be provided in the bug report. Severity of a defect is related to how severe a bug is. Usually the severity is defined in terms of financial loss, damage to environment, company’s reputation and loss of life.

    What is the test plan?

    TEST PLAN DEFINITION. A Software Test Plan is a document describing the testing scope and activities. It is the basis for formally testing any software/product in a project. ISTQB Definition. test plan: A document describing the scope, approach, resources and schedule of intended test activities.

    What is the level of testing?

    There are generally four recognized levels of tests: unit/component testing, integration testing, system testing, and acceptance testing. Tests are frequently grouped by where they are added in the software development process, or by the level of specificity of the test.

    What do you mean by functional testing?

    Functional testing is a software testing process used within software development in which software is tested to ensure that it conforms with all requirements. Functional testing is a way of checking software to ensure that it has all the required functionality that’s specified within its functional requirements.

    What is the sanity test?

    Sanity Testing is the subset of Regression Testing and it is performed when we do not have enough time for doing testing. Sanity testing is the surface level testing where QA engineer verifies that all the menus, functions, commands available in the product and project are working fine.

    What is meant by test strategy?

    A test strategy is an outline that describes the testing approach of the software development cycle. It is created to inform project managers, testers, and developers about some key issues of the testing process. They are created based on development design documents.

    What is bug life cycle in manual testing?

    Defect life cycle, also known as Bug Life cycle is the journey of a defect cycle, which a defect goes through during its lifetime. It varies from organization to organization and also from project to project as it is governed by the software testing process and also depends upon the tools used.

    What are the different types of SDLC?

    Types of Software developing life cycles (SDLC)

  • Waterfall Model.
  • V-Shaped Model.
  • Evolutionary Prototyping Model.
  • Spiral Method (SDM)
  • Iterative and Incremental Method.
  • Agile development.
  • What is the SDLC?

    The systems development life cycle (SDLC), also referred to as the application development life-cycle, is a term used in systems engineering, information systems and software engineering to describe a process for planning, creating, testing, and deploying an information system.

    What is the test data?

    Test data is data which has been specifically identified for use in tests, typically of a computer program. Some data may be used in a confirmatory way, typically to verify that a given set of input to a given function produces some expected result.

    What is a bug in testing?

    A software bug is an error, flaw, failure or fault in a computer program or system that causes it to produce an incorrect or unexpected result, or to behave in unintended ways.

    What is the difference between test plan and test strategy?

    A Test Strategy document is a high level document and normally developed by project manager. This document defines “Software Testing Approach” to achieve testing objectives. The Test Strategy is normally derived from the Business Requirement Specification document.

    What is a RTM?

    Requirement Traceability Matrix or RTM captures all requirements proposed by the client or development team and their traceability in a single document delivered at the conclusion of the life-cycle. In other words, it is a document that maps and traces user requirement with test cases.

    Leave a Comment