What are the main regions of the world?

  • Africa.
  • East Asia and Pacific.
  • Europe and Central Asia.
  • Latin America & Caribbean.
  • Middle East and North Africa.
  • South Asia.
  • The World Region.
  • Gender.
  • Considering this, which part of Asia is India in?

    Yes it is. In the not so old days the entire region was known as Indian subcontinent which was part of the larger continent of Asia. But it’ is now fashionably known as South Asia. South Asia comprises India,Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Sri Lanka and Maldives.

    Is India is Southeast Asia?

    Southeast Asia consists of eleven countries that reach from eastern India to China, and is generally divided into “mainland” and “island” zones. The mainland (Burma, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, and Vietnam) is actually an extension of the Asian continent.

    Where is India geographically located?

    India is located in south Asia and is bordered by other countries like Pakistan in the west, China and Nepal in the north to north eastern part, Bhutan in the north east and Burma in the west.

    What are the six regions of the world?

  • African Region.
  • Region of the Americas.
  • South-East Asia Region.
  • European Region.
  • Eastern Mediterranean Region.
  • Western Pacific Region.
  • References.
  • What are the 5 regions?

    Language, government, or religion can define a region, as can forests, wildlife, or climate. A common way of referring to regions in the United States is grouping them into 5 regions according to their geographic position on the continent: the Northeast, Southwest, West, Southeast, and Midwest.

    What are the major regions of the world?

    Major Geographical Regions. According to the AP World History framework, there are five major geographical regions. They are Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania. The continent of Africa lies south of Europe, and west of Asia.

    What are the names of the regions of the world?

  • Africa. Eastern Africa. Middle Africa. Northern Africa.
  • Americas. Latin America and the Caribbean. Caribbean.
  • Asia. Central Asia. Eastern Asia.
  • Middle East — Preceding unsigned comment added by (talk) 10:37, 4 October 2017 (UTC)
  • Europe. Eastern Europe. Northern Europe.
  • Oceania. Australia and New Zealand. Melanesia.
  • How many regions are there in Asia?

    The 5 major regions of Asia are Southeast Asia, East Asia, Central Asia, South Asia, and Southwest Asia (also known as the Middle East).

    What is the WHO region?

    Definition of regional groupings. WHO regions: WHO Member States are grouped into 6 WHO regions: African Region, Region of the Americas, South-East Asia Region, European Region, Eastern Mediterranean Region, and Western Pacific Region.

    What region of the world is China?

    China Geography. Located in Southeast Asia along the coastline of the Pacific Ocean, China is the world’s third largest country, after Russia and Canada.

    What are the natural regions of the world?

    Some of the major natural regions of the world are as follows:

  • Equatorial Region.
  • Tropical Grassland (Savanna) Region:
  • Tropical Deciduous Forest Region:
  • Tropical Deserts:
  • Mediterranean Region:
  • East Margin Region (China Type):
  • Mid-Latitude Deserts (Steppe Lands):
  • Eastern Margins or St Lawrence type:
  • What region of the world is Afghanistan in?

    A landlocked mountainous country with plains in the north and southwest, Afghanistan is located within South Asia and Central Asia.

    What region of the world is Australia?

    New Zealand and Australia are both part of the Oceanian sub-region known as Australasia, with New Guinea being in Melanesia. The term Oceania is often used to denote the region encompassing the Australian continent, Zealandia and various islands in the Pacific Ocean that are not included in the seven-continent model.

    Is Australia a region?

    Australian region. Australian region, one of the six major land areas of the world defined on the basis of its characteristic animal life. It encompasses Australia and the outlying islands of Tasmania, New Guinea, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia.

    What region of the world is Africa?

    Table 1. Countries by RegionsAfricaSouth & Southeast AsiaSub-Saharan AfricaNorth & Cental AmericaAntarcticaCaribbean IslandsAsiaMesoamericaEast AsiaNorth America

    What are the regions of Africa?

    Sudanian Savanna. The Horn of Africa is a peninsula in East Africa that juts for hundreds of kilometers into the Arabian Sea, and lies along the southern side of the Gulf of Aden. It encompasses Ethiopia, Eritrea, Somalia and Djibouti. Ethiopian Highlands (Roof of Africa)

    What is a single culture region?

    In anthropology and geography, a cultural region, cultural sphere, cultural area or culture area refers to a geographical area with one relatively homogeneous human activity or complex of activities (culture). These are often associated with an ethnolinguistic group and the territory it inhabits.

    What is the definition of a geographic region?

    A region is an area of land that has common features. A region can be defined by natural or artificial features. Language, government, or religion can define a region, as can forests, wildlife, or climate. Regions, large or small, are the basic units of geography.

    Which countries are in the East?


  • China.
  • Hong Kong.
  • Japan.
  • Macau.
  • Mongolia.
  • North Korea.
  • South Korea.
  • Taiwan.
  • What are the regions in the United States?

    Regional divisions used by the United States Census Bureau:

  • Region 1: Northeast. Division 1: New England (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont)
  • Region 2: Midwest (Prior to June 1984, the Midwest Region was designated as the North Central Region.)
  • Region 3: South.
  • Region 4: West.
  • How many states or regions are there in Italy?

    20 regions

    What is the region of Mexico?

    Sharing a common border throughout its northern extent with the United States, Mexico is bounded to the west and south by the Pacific Ocean, to the east by the Gulf of Mexico and the Caribbean Sea, and to the southeast by Guatemala and Belize.

    How many regions of Africa are there?

    Africa is broadly divided into five regions as shown on the map right. The seasons are fairly well defined in those regions that lie in the northern and southern hemispheres – the north and south of Africa.

    Leave a Comment